Poetically fluent

My little poetry corner, shared with the world

Elevator Irony 06/25/2010

 

Three friends walk into an elevator.

Conversation pauses.

Two strangers have walked in with them.

 

Five people in an elevator.

 

A  dog whimpering sounds catches  them by surprise.

Moaning fills the elevator air.

The awkward sound comes from a young man.

 

We are understanding humans,

retardation is not funny.

 

That morning, I painted my nails.

My skills of painting nails are on same level of a five year old.

I wave the mess I made of my nails, in my friends face.

 

We both laugh and

she calls me retarded.

 

It’s hard not to laugh.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

